Laws in Kansas and Missouri state that if you were injured in a drunk driving accident, that motorist is responsible for your compensation. When filing your claim with their insurance company, you need to know how much coverage they have—but the carrier might refuse to provide this information.
It's important to know the other driver’s policy coverage for two reasons:
- It's an indicator of how much compensation you can receive. Almost all drunk driving accident settlements are paid by at-fault motorist's insurer.
- If the driver is underinsured or uninsured, you'll need to know so you can file a claim with your carrier.
In both states, drivers are required to have a minimum amount of auto insurance liability coverage to pay victims if they suffer injuries in a car accident. That minimum is $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injury in liability insurance coverage.
People are also required to purchase uninsured coverage to protect them if the other driver doesn't have auto insurance. In both states, individuals must purchase a minimum of $25,000 per person and $50,000 per accident for bodily injuries. In Kansas, they must also purchase the same minimum amount of underinsured coverage, which is a policy addition that provides compensation if the at-fault driver's policy isn't enough.
Three Ways to Find Out a Driver’s Insurance Coverage
It can be frustrating when the insurance company refuses to provide you with proof of insurance coverage. However, you have options for uncovering this information.
Ask the Drunk Driver
They may provide it to you, especially if you ask them soon after the accident before they talk to an insurance adjuster about your claim.
Send a Demand Letter
If the insurance company refuses to tell you the policy limits, it's a red flag that you'll have problems settling your claim. However, if you hire a skilled drunk driving accident lawyer right away, they'll send the carrier a demand letter that will hopefully convince it to voluntarily provide this information to you.
File a Lawsuit
Another way an attorney can obtain a copy of the other driver’s insurance policy is to sue the drunk driver. Your lawyer can demand that this information be released as part of the discovery phase of your case.
Were You Injured In a Kansas City Area Drunk Driving Accident?