After a car accident resulting in a traumatic brain injury, victims and their families may find themselves struggling to understand the many new terms surrounding this type of injury. One such term is the “Glasgow Coma Scale.” The Glasgow Coma Scale is the most common scoring system used by medical professionals to describe the level of consciousness in a person following a traumatic brain injury. Depending on the score, doctors can estimate the severity of the injury. This may then impact a victim’s legal claim for compensation because the more severe the injury, the greater the award they may be granted.

How the Glasgow Coma Scale Works

Using the Glasgow Coma Scale, doctors are able to reliably document both the initial and subsequent levels of consciousness in a person after suffering a brain injury. The Scale measures the following functions:

  1. Eye opening
  2. Verbal response
  3. Motor response

Doctors rate the best eye opening, verbal response, and motor response a victim makes in order to arrive at a final score. Scores then fall into the following categories:

  1. Severe brain injuries for victims scoring between 3 and 8.
  2. Moderate brain injuries for victims scoring between 9 and 12.
  3. Mild brain injuries for victims scoring between 13 and 15.

While the Glasgow Coma Scale is considered reliable, there are outside factors that can sometimes impact the results. These factors include drug use, alcohol intoxication, shock, or low blood oxygen levels.

Have You Been Injured In A Kansas City Area Car Accident?

If you've been injured in a car accident you need to speak with an experienced car accident lawyer as soon as possible. Contact us online or call our Kansas City office directly at 816.471.5111 to schedule your free consultation.

James Roswold
Connect with me
James Roswold is a Kansas & Missouri personal injury, workers comp, and medical malpractice attorney.